Longest surviving and largest annual art awards of their kind in New Zealand.

The Annual Wallace Arts Awards

The Wallace Arts Trust has announced the finalists for the 25th Annual Wallace Art Awards 2016. This year the Trust received 371 entries from which 88 entries have been selected as finalists. You can find more information on this years awards here 

The Annual Wallace Art Awards aim to support, promote and expose New Zealand contemporary art and artists. Sir James Wallace established the Annual Wallace Art Awards 24 years ago. These Awards are now the longest surviving and largest annual art awards of their kind in New Zealand, with a value amounting to over $195,000. They differ from other important New Zealand art prizes in that they aim to provide challenging opportunities and broadening experiences to the four major winners by way of residencies at top-class international institutions. Many of the winners and finalists of the Awards are purchased by the Trust each year to add to the Collection.

The Awards are given for contemporary New Zealand painting, sculpture, video, drawing and unique photography and print to encourage and develop the visual arts in New Zealand, and in particular to reward artists creating outstanding work.

The Judges for 2015 were Joyce Campbell, Andrew Clifford, Ian Jervis, Andrew McLeod and Philip Trusttum. Judges for the Fulbright-Wallace Arts Trust Award were Bronwynne Cornish, Mark Fitz-Gerald, Richard Maloy and Steve Rood.

Award Winners and Travelling Finalists exhibition catalogues (since 2010), are available from Pah Homestead Reception and the Pah Gallery Shop for $15.

The Awards

The Wallace Arts Trust Paramount Award
A six month residency at the the International Studio and Curatorial Program in New York. This includes a studio, 24 access to ISCP’s facilities, support from on site staff, the opportunity to attend a minimum of 22 lectures given by members on the New York art community, a minimum of three field trips including out-of-town expenses, and a minimum of two open-studio exhibitions/receptions. The Paramount Award Winner also receives a bronze trophy by Terry Stringer.
The ISCP is the premier residency-based contemporary art centre in the United States for emerging to mid-career artists and curators from around the world.

The Kaipara Wallace Arts Trust Award
A three month residency at Altes Spital in Solothurn, Switzerland. This includes a large studio apartment, access to specialist studios and workshops and the opportunity to attend exhibitions and work with specialist advisors.

Fulbright-Wallace Arts Trust Award
A ten week residency at the Headlands Center for the Arts in San Francisco, USA.
Fulbright New Zealand was established in 1948 to promote mutual understanding through educational and cultural exchanges between New Zealand and the United States of America.

The Wallace Arts Trust Vermont Award
A three month residency at the Vermont Studio Center, USA. This includes, a studio, meals, accomodation, a stipend, counsel from a distinguished roster of six visiting artists, and the fellowship of professional peers from around the world.

The Vermont Ctudio Center was founded by artists in 1984 and is the largest international artists’ and writers’ Residency Program in the United States.

1st Runners Up Award

2nd Runners Up Award

Peoples’ Choice Award
$750 (Winner to be announced at the end of the Travelling Show)

Jury Award